New York Game Awards 2021 Nominees Announced, Reggie Fils-Aimé Will Co-Host Show

The New York Game Awards is back for its 10th year and has announced its 2021 nominees. Former President of Nintendo of America Reggie Fils-Aimé will be co-hosting the show alongside the New York Videogame Critics Circle’s founder Harold Goldberg.

The event will be streamed for free on Twitch and YouTube on January 26 at 8pm ET and will include some musical performances. It will be run by the NYVGCC, a group that helps the underprivileged in the New York area who want to learn more about games and technology.

The awards are tied with the city’s world-famous landmarks. Best Music is called the Tin Pan Alley Award, named after an area that many music publishers and songwriters resided. The Game of the Year is fittingly given The Big Apple Award, as well.

Four industry greats will also be honored with the Andrew Yoon Legend Award starting on January 7 at 8pm ET. The next two streams will occur on the 14th and the 21st. Past recipients include Reggie Fils-Aimé, Jade Raymond (Assassin’s Creed), and Todd Howard (The Elder Scrolls) to name a few.

Here are the nominees for the awards:

Big Apple Award for Best Game of the Year

  • Animal Crossing: New Horizons
  • The Last of Us Part II
  • Final Fantasy VII: Remake
  • DOOM Eternal
  • Yakuza: Like A Dragon
  • Hades

Central Park Children’s Zoo Award for Best Kids Game

  • Dreams
  • Animal Crossing: New Horizons
  • Moving Out
  • Good Job!
  • Drake Hollow
  • Sackboy: A Big Adventure
  • Astro’s Playroom

A-Train Award for Best Mobile Game

  • Roundguard
  • Necrobarista
  • Creaks
  • Little Orpheus
  • Good Sudoku
  • Genshin Impact
  • Wide Ocean Big Jacket

Coney Island Dreamland Award for Best AR/VR Game

  • Half-Life: Alyx
  • Walking Dead: Saints & Sinners
  • Dreams
  • Paper Beast
  • Star Wars Squadrons

Off Broadway Award for Best Indie Game

  • Ori and the Will of the Wisps
  • The Longing: Patience
  • Hades
  • Fall Guys
  • Spiritfarer
  • Umurangi Generation

Tin Pan Alley Award for Best Music in a Game

  • Animal Crossing: New Horizons
  • Final Fantasy VII: Remake
  • The Last of Us Part II
  • Teenage Blob
  • Hades
  • Spider-Man: Miles Morales
  • Fuser
  • Ghost of Tsushima

Statue of Liberty Award for Best World

  • Ghost of Tsushima
  • Assassin’s Creed Valhalla
  • Final Fantasy VII: Remake
  • Microsoft Flight Simulator
  • Hades
  • Umarangi Generation
  • Demon’s Souls
  • Cyberpunk 2077 (for PC)

Herman Melville Award for Best Writing

  • The Last of Us Part II
  • If Found
  • Assassin’s Creed Valhalla
  • Hades
  • Spider-Man: Miles Morales
  • Cyberpunk 2077 (for PC)
  • Treachery in Beatdown City

Great White Way Award for Best Acting in a Game

  • Laura Bailey as Abby in The Last of Us Part II
  • Ashley Johnson as Ellie in The Last of Us Part II
  • Briana White as Aerith in Final Fantasy VII: Remake
  • August Aiden as Tyler Ronan in Tell Me Why
  • Logan Cunningham as Lord Hades / Poseidon / Achilles / Charon / The Storyteller / Asterius in Hades
  • Nadji Jeter as Miles Morales in Spider-Man: Miles Morales
  • Keanu Reeves as Johnny Silverhand in Cyberpunk 2077

Freedom Tower Award for Best Remake

  • Final Fantasy VII: Remake
  • Resident Evil 3
  • Mr. Driller: DrillLand
  • Black Mesa
  • Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1+2
  • Demon’s Souls

Captain Award for Best Esports Team

  • DAMWOM Gaming
  • San Francisco Shock
  • Red Bull OG
  • Dallas Empire
  • TSM

Shea Stadium Award for Best Esports Event

  • Street Fighter League
  • Overwatch League
  • League of Legends Worlds
  • IEM Katowice
  • Mortal Kombat 11 Final Kombat

The nominations were decided by video game journalists and critics from the area who are a part of the NYVGCC. It includes writers from publications like TIME Magazine, Polygon, and The Washington Post, among others.

Unlike The Game Awards 2020, Cyberpunk 2077 met the cutoff date for the New York Game Awards and made the nomination lists. This is one of the very first times we’ve seen CD Projekt Red’s latest epic nominated at an awards show. Whether or not it will be remembered at this year’s The Game Awards depends on how well polished the currently buggy game will be after multiple patches. We think Keanu Reeves could have given Laura Bailey (who won The Game Award for Best Performance) a run for her money if the game was included last year.

Funnily, Cyberpunk 2077 is also nominated for Best World at The New York Game Awards, but it only applies to its PC version. On console, the constant glitches can take you out of the experience easily.

Next: Hammerfell Is The Perfect Setting For The Elder Scrolls 6

  • TheGamer Originals

The British “Canadian” Chris Penwell has been a video game journalist since 2013 and now has a Bachelor’s degree in Communications from MacEwan University. He loves to play JRPGs and games with a narrative. His dream is to go to E3 and PAX one day and experience the mania of each event!

Source: Read Full Article